AXEMASTER band photo 2


Great hard rock/metal band with that super old school sound we all love, Plenty of highs and lows with a ton of guitar riffs makes one awesome band. Vocally Fantastic, Lyrically superb and the music rocks big time.


Axemaster was formed in 1985 by lead guitarist Joe Sims and Drummer Brian Henderson. With the band’s original lineup they recorded their first 4 releases: “Slave to the Blade” (demo EP cassette), “Blessing in the Skies” (full length album), “The Vision” (shaped pictured disc single), and “Crusades” (shaped picture disc single), the last 3 being released by Azra International Records. They were also featured on Azra Record’s compilation shaped picture record “Metalgon” and in the comedy/horror movie “Killer Nerd”.

Several lineup changes followed as the band recorded their next 2 releases: “Death Before Dishonor” (full length cassette, European-only release) and “5 Demons (Imperative is their Demise)” (self-released EP cassette). Joe Sims was the only original member to remain and play on every release. After this the band altered their musical direction and changed the name to The Awakening.

Four years later, Unisound Records {Greece} re-issued selected songs from 4 of the band’s releases (as well as 3 songs by The Awakening) on a 15 track CD titled “Axemaster & The Awakening, 1985-1995”. In 2002 Unisound re-released “Death Before Dishonor” (as well as some unreleased material) on CD.

In 2007, a reunited Axemaster re-released “Blessing in the Skies” with bonus tracks and video on disc through Burning Star Records {Greece}. The reunion was short-lived however, and the remaining members moved on to do a CD project under the name Inner Terror.

In 2010, Sims and Henderson decided to re-start the Axemaster project and produce a new full length CD. While Sims finished writing the material and began recording demos, they added vocalist (and future rhythm guitarist) Geoff McGraw and bassist Jim Curtis to complete the lineup. Afterwhich, recording and production of the new disc became top priority.

The first official release of material that featured the newly formed lineup was an appearance on a compilation CD which was produced by the German magazine “That’s Metal” which was released in 2013. The band interrupted work on the album in order to quickly record a song especially for the compilation, a track Sims had originally written in the 80’s.

In the summer of 2014, the band, along with new drummer Denny Archer, signed a worldwide record & publishing deal with Pure Steel Records from Germany and increased their work level on the album, now titled “Overure to Madness” (which Joe Sims produced and mastered). The production is now complete and the masters sent to the label along with excellent cover artwork. The album should be released in the spring of 2015.

Geoff McGraw – Vocals/Rhythm Guitar
Joe Sims – Lead Guitar
Denny Archer – Drums
Jim Curtis – Bass

Please Rate Us

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.